Obtaining global compliance is crucial in today's competitive business landscape. In this blog, we explore E-Mark certifications, its benefits, process, and present C&T's e-mark compliant solution.
    Home News&Events Blog What is E-Mark? Understanding E-Mark Certification for Rugged Computers

    What is E-Mark? Understanding E-Mark Certification for Rugged Computers

    Understanding E-Mark for Rugged Computers

    A variety of processes and protocols are established to guarantee the safety of all C&T products. This involves meticulous testing in accordance with both national and international recognized standards. One of these recognised standards is the E-Mark certification, intended for wheeled vehicles and their components. 
    Continue on to discover the significance and definition of E-Mark certifications, its array of benefits for businesses, and discover C&T's E-Mark certified ruggedized solution

    What is E-mark certification?

    E-Mark certification acts as a quality stamp, confirming that our products meet the high standards set by the World Forum for Harmonization of Vehicle Regulations, a branch of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE). This ensures our vehicles are not only super safe but also eco-friendly, energy-efficient, and theft-resistant. Additionally, it eases international trading of vehicles and their components, providing our customers with top-notch quality and compliance for their business needs.


    What does the number on E-mark mean?

    Under UNECE regulations, E-Mark certified products receive a distinctive mark featuring a number enclosed within a circle. This number denotes the country that granted the item approval. Moreover, surrounding letters and digits indicate the precise version of the met regulation and the unique approval number, ensuring comprehensive compliance and authenticity.


    Which countries follow the E-Mark certification regulations?

    Originally limited to EU members since its inception in 1958, E-Mark certification has now embraced non-European members since 1995. Presently, countries within the European Union, alongside non-EU UNECE members such as Norway, Russia, Ukraine, Croatia, Serbia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Turkey, Azerbaijan, and Tunisia, as well as territories like South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, South Korea, Thailand, and Malaysia adhere to E-Mark certification guidelines.


    What is the difference between E-mark and e-mark?

    Distinguishing between "E-Mark" and "e-mark," the E-mark is applicable globally beyond EU borders and adheres to UNECE regulations, while the e-mark follows specific EU directives meant for EU members. Each EU member state has its own number of e-mark certificates, and the e-mark logo is in a rectangular frame rather than a circular one. 

    Content Banners (16)


    What kind of products can be E-mark certified? 

    E-mark certification caters to a wide range of products, including vehicles that can be driven on general roads, vehicle components, vehicle computers, vehicle electronics, and various accessories like helmets, child safety chairs, anti-theft devices, car audio systems, hands-free headsets, mobile phone chargers, and an array of car accessories. Embracing E-mark certification ensures compliance with the highest standards across diverse products.


    What are the benefits of obtaining an E-mark certification?

    For manufacturers and providers, E-Mark certification is a game-changer. It empowers businesses to navigate the global market confidently, offering premium quality products that meet international standards and customer expectations. The advantages of E-Mark certification are numerous, including ensuring compliance for target markets, accessing European and global markets, enhancing trust and credibility, assuring product safety and quality, gaining a competitive advantage, and facilitating seamless cross-border business transactions. With E-Mark certified solutions, solution providers can stay ahead in an ever-evolving and competitive industry.


    What industries require the E-mark certification?

     The E-Mark certification is a required safety standard in multiple industries. Some include:
    • Automotive Industry - for vehicles and their components, ensuring they meet safety and regulatory standards for roadworthiness.

    • Industrial Equipment Industry - for industrial machinery, particularly those used in transportation and logistics, like forklifts, cranes, and other non-road mobile machinery.

    • Technology Industry - Companies providing technologies used in vehicles, like vehicle tracking systems or GPS devices, can also benefit from E-Mark certification.

    It ensures products meet safety and regulatory standards for road use, opening access to global markets and building customer trust. Basically, any industry that manufactures moving vehicles or their parts.

    What Does E-Mark test for? E-Mark Certification and EMC testing for Automotive Parts

    The aim of the certification process is to guarantee the safety of drivers, passengers, and pedestrians when road vehicles are in operation. The testing structure is detailed in the UNECE Regulation 10 testing. The testing includes electromagnetic compatibility (EMC), road noise, fuel economy, energy efficiency and emissions.

    Depending on the use and type of product that is submitted for testing, the testing process can vary. The testing can take place within an accredited laboratory, where they will gather the test data and create a test report, which will be provided to the client. Subsequently, the customer submits this report to a designated authority for the final assessment and approval. This authority then issues a Statement of Compliance, stating that the manufacturer's product aligns with all the essential UN 10 requirements. As part of the process, the manufacturer is obligated to print the E-Mark logo onto the product unit.


    E-13 of E-Mark Certification

    Content Banners (14)

    Our products adhere to E-13 Mark from Luxembourg. This certification underlines our dedication to providing high-quality and compliant industrial computer solutions. In the E-mark process, we test our products for the following: 
    • Electrical Signature Analysis (ESA) Radiated Emission Test    
    • ESA Radiated Emission Test 
    • ESA Voltage Transient Emissions Test 
    • ESA Transients Immunity Test 

    E-Mark Certified Industrial Computers

    In conclusion, E-Mark certification is a vital investment for solution providers seeking to expand their global presence and foster trust among customers. At C&T Solution Inc., our ACO-6000-CML Series is an E-Mark and EN50155 certified industrial computer for in-vehicle and railway applications.

    ACO-6000-CML In-Vehicle e-Mark compliant rugged computer

    Explore E-Mark Certified ACO-6000-CML Now
    Find Product
    Product Finder